25 Cartagena -yoga (English text too) - Reisverslag uit Cartagena, Colombia van Eddy Dunlop - WaarBenJij.nu 25 Cartagena -yoga (English text too) - Reisverslag uit Cartagena, Colombia van Eddy Dunlop - WaarBenJij.nu

25 Cartagena -yoga (English text too)

Door: Eddy Dunlop

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Eddy

12 April 2010 | Colombia, Cartagena

Nr 25 Cartagena (Colombia) April 2010 (The Dutch textis followed by a short English translation)

Kijk hoe mijn leven er nu uitziet. S´morgens doe ik mijn yoga oefeningen terwijl de zwaluwen me uitlachen. De pelicanen doen hun ochtendronde en vangen vis zolang de zon laag aan de horizon staat.
Een week nadat Hans vertrokken is ga ik op Spaanse les. Ik begin met 6, veelal jonge, Amerikanen. Elke dag 4 uur les en s´middags op Boanerges woordjes leren en huiswerk. Jasmin is de lerares. De tweede week wordt de groep groter en voor mij wordt het wel erg vermoeiend omdat ik de meeste energie kwijt ben met proberen te verstaan wat iedereen zegt in het galmende lokaal. Het wordt de volgende 4 weken privé les van Jasmin. Ik kan het erg goed met haar vinden. Ze is een 25 jarige alleenstaande en alleen wonende moeder met duidelijke ideeën over de Colombiaanse maatschappij. Dat is uitzonderlijk. Het is hier volkomen normaal dat volwassenen hier nog op latere leeftijd bij ouders, of broers en zussen inwonen. En jonge vrouwen wonen niet alleen. Het leven is hier financieel gezien niet makkelijk. Afgezien van een collectieve ziektekosten verzekering zijn er nauwelijks sociale voorzieningen.
We hebben vaak zulke diepgaande discussies dat we overgaan van Spaans op Engels. Wat uiteraard niet de bedoeling is. Aan het einde van de 6 weken ben ik doodop van het studeren. En het resultaat is matig. Woordjes leren is op mijn leeftijd toch wel moeilijk geworden en zonder woordjes geen zinnetjes en dus geen gesprek. Mijn gehoor werkt ook niet mee, ondanks mijn gerepareerde hoorapparaten. De praktijk is dat ik een beetje kan praten met de taxi chauffeur en in de winkel. Zodra ik werkelijk wat uit wil drukken moet dat in het Engels.
In de vorige aflevering heb ik beschreven dat Hans en ik in Cinto Bay Oscar en Agustin ontmoet hebben. Met Agustin heb ik contact gehouden en wanneer hij een Yoga retreat van een week organiseert in Cinto Bay in het Tayrona natuurpark ben ik van de partij. Ik bespreek een busje dat mij van de Club Nautico naar Santa Marta zal brengen. De bus komt niet opdagen. Dus neem ik met de reguliere bus. Je moet onderhandelen over de prijs. Ik heb geen tijd om met een andere bus te zoeken dus ik betaal teveel. De bus rijdt pas als hij vol is. Deze is vol dus vertrekt en het lijkt dat ik op tijd kan komen. Dan stappen er veel passagiers uit en gaat iemand de straat op om klanten te jagen. De bus rijdt een blokje om op zoek naar klanten en ik wordt wat zenuwachtig. Uiteindelijk rijden we verder. Als de bus in Barranquilla opeens bijna leeg is wordt besloten dat hij niet doorgaat naar Santa Marta. Ik sta even later op de snelweg en wordt een andere bus ingesleurd. En moet betalen, wat ik al gedaan had in de andere bus. Nu versta ik geen Spaans en na verloop van tijd laten ze het er maar bij zitten. Ik kom slechts een uur te laat in Santa Marta waar Augustin me oppikt en opmerkt dat ik al aardig Colombiaans wordt. Geen horloge en als laatste aankomen. De groep gaat per taxi en boot verder naar Cinto Bay. Alles komt dus goed, zoals altijd. Ons onderkomen is een eenvoudig romantisch huis met ruime luchtige gemeenschappelijke slaapzalen en enkele kamers. Er is nauwelijks electriciteit, geen internet en telefoon.Er wordt fantastisch goed vegetarisch gekookt, bijna zo goed als ik van Beatrijs gewend ben.
De deelnemers zijn voornamelijk vrouwen van rond 30-40 jaar en meest goed getrainde yogis. Er zijn zelfs 3 leerlingen van Agustin uit New York. De mannen zijn duidelijk de minderen in yoga. Ik ben de oudste en het minst ervaren en het meest stijf. Na afloop is dat nog steeds zo. De cursus kost 700USD en dat is voor Colombiaanse begrippen veel geld. Het is dan ook niet verwonderlijk dat het opleidingsniveau van de deelnemers hoog is. Het zijn advokaten, therapeuten, communicatie adviseurs, marketing deskundigen etc. De hoop van de natie. Iedereen spreekt goed Engels dus ik gebruik mijn gebrekkige Spaans niet. Velen zijn vaak in het buitenland geweest, waaronder Nederland. Waar ze erg enthousiast over zijn. Het overkomt me vaak dat mensen enthousiast zijn over Nederland en iedere keer weer ben ik verrast.
Agustin geeft de traditionele Hatha Yoga. Ik heb zelf in Nederland korte tijd Dru Yoga gedaan, een vriendelijke vloeiende variant waar ik geen kopstandjes in ben tegengekomen. Hier is het inleven, opwarmen en dan hard werken en afkoelen en een meditatie. Agustin is in staat om de 15 deelnemers met veel verschil in ervaring individueel te begeleiden en op hun eigen niveau te laten werken. Ik doe altijd de eenvoudigste variant, maar ook daar voel ik dat al mijn spieren te kort zijn en is het rekken en strekken tot ik niet meer kan. Regelmatig vind ik de oefening wel comfortabel en dan geeft Agustin me een aanwijzing omdat ik “ a different variation” probeer. Zijn variant voelt duidelijk strenger aan. In 7 dagen doe ik 14 sessies, iedere keer ga ik tot waar ik gaan kan en wat mij heel erg verbaasd is dat ik me de hele tijd ontspannen en lichamelijk lekker voel. Er is geen enkele keer geweest dat ik dacht, weet je wat, deze keer doe ik deze sessie maar eens niet. Nu ik terug ben op Boanerges doe ik elke morgen een oefenreeks Dru Yoga wat eigenlijk dezelfde (eenvoudige) oefeningen van Agustin zijn. Het Dru boek geeft veel spirituele aanwijzingen waar ik bij Agustin vooral lichamelijkheid ervaar.
De sfeer is uiterst ontspannen, er wordt ruim de tijd genomen om op gang te komen. Hoewel er serieus gewerkt wordt ervaar ik hier niet de wat strenge, serieuze sfeer die je zo vaak tegenkomt bij dit soort gelegenheden in Nederland. Na een paar ontspannen en intensieve dagen wordt bij toeval tijdens een gesprek mijn grootste pijn in mijn leven aangeraakt en komt in volle kracht boven. Dat het een pijn van 30 jaar geleden is maakt niets uit. Het voelt alsof het vorige week gebeurd is en alle verdriet was er weer. Het duurt een paar dagen voor ik weer kan voelen hoe blij ik ben dat ik hier en nu in Colombia op deze prachtige plek met deze leuke mensen ben en dat ik me heel erg gelukkig voel dat ik deze reis kan beleven.
De week is voorbij voor ik er erg in heb. In juni is er weer een retreat en als ik nog in Colombia ben dan doe ik weer mee, ik mag Agustin erg graag en bewonder zijn levenshouding.(info www.bereceptive.com, yogatayrona@yahoo.com)
Als ik bij zonsondergang bij Club Nautico aankom blijkt zelfs de dinghy met warme motor aan de steiger te liggen. Jaime heeft goed opgepast.
En nu dus weer onderhoud. Dekken schilderen wat ik eigenlijk in mei vorig jaar in St.Maarten had moeten doen maar ach, wie kijkt hier op een jaartje. En mijn windgenerator is vastgelopen, omdat een magneet gebroken is en tussen de rotor en stator is komen te zitten. Ook ik heb niet altijd vakantie.

See my life now, early in the morning sparrows whistle while I do my Yoga sequences. The pelicans hunt for fish while the sun is still low at the horizon. A week after Hans has left Cartagena I start Spanish lessons. Initially lessons with a group of 6, mostly young, Americans. Each morning 4 hours and in the afternoon homework and study at Boanerges. Jasmin is the teacher. The second week the group is larger and for me it becomes quite tiring because most of energy is lost with understanding what everyone says while the room echoes. My hearing aids are not of much help in this situation. The following 4 weeks I have private lesson with Jasmin with whom I get along very well. She is a 25 years old single mother who lives on her own and has clear ideas concerning the Colombian society and the rest of the world. That is an exceptional situation. It is in Colombia quite normal that adults live with their parents and / or brothers and sisters at a later age. Young women don’t live on their own very often. Living in Colombia is financially not easy. Apart from collective medical expenses insurance there are hardly any social services. We frequently have very intense discussions that we precede in English. What definitely doesn’t help me learning Spanish. At the end of the 6 weeks I am exhausted of studying Spanish. The results are moderate. Learning verbs and words at my age has become difficult and no conversation without words. And my hearing does not cooperate too, in spite of my repaired hearing aids. I can only do small talk with the taxi driver and the shop keeper. As soon as I want to express more complicated thoughts I have to change to English.
In the previous episode I did describe that Hans and I have met Oscar and Agustin in Cinto Bay. With Agustin I kept in contact by mail and when he organized another yoga retreat in Cinto Bay I subscribed and I traveled there by regular bus. One must negotiate about the price of the ticket. While I am in too much of a hurry to wait for another bus I pay too much. The bus only departs if it is full. This one is full, so it departs and it seems that I will be in Santa Marta in time. However on our way to Barranquilla many passengers leave the bus and the hunt for passengers starts. If the bus is near Barranquilla it is suddenly almost empty and the driver decides that he does not continue to Santa Marta. A few minutes later I am standing on the motorway with my backpack and it is organized that I am pulled into another bus. I must pay again, what I had already done in the other bus. Now I do not understand Spanish sufficiently and after some time it is settled, I get a ticket for free which is taken back after a while and the bus leaves the parking lot. I still can be on time in Santa Marta. However after 10 minutes the bus starts driving circles around the block in search for more customers and I become somewhat nervous. Passengers start to shout and complain. Eventually we drive on and I am only one hour late in Santa Marta where Agustin picks me up and congratulates me that I already become quite Colombian. I have no watch and I am the last of the group to arrive. We travel by taxi and boat and hike the last part to the lodge in Cinto Bay. At the end, as always, things works out well for me. It gives a special feeling to be here again. Our accommodation is a simple romantic house with wide common dormitories and some double rooms. There is hardly electricity, no Internet and phone. Communication with the rest of the world is possible only when a launch with visitors comes or goes.(Once every few days.) Twice a day we have fantastic well prepared vegetarian meals, almost this as good as I remember Beatrijs prepares them. The participants are mainly experienced women yogis of around 30-40 years. There are even 3 students of Agustin from New York. The men are clearly less experienced in yoga. And I am the most senior and least experienced and stiff in bones and muscles. After the retreat this is still the case.
The course costs 700USD and that is for Colombians much money, so the participants must have good jobs. The level of education is high, there are lawyers, therapists, communication consultants, marketing experts etc. They are the hope of the nation. Everyone does speak English well, therefore I do not use my Spanish. Many have frequently been abroad, among quite a few who visited the Netherlands. They are very enthusiastic concerning Holland. It frequently happens to me that people are enthusiastic concerning the Netherlands and every time I have been surprised.
Agustin teaches the traditional Hatha yoga. I did myself in the Netherlands for a while Dru yoga, a friendly fluent alternative where I never encountered headstands. In this course we start with concentrating, warming up and then hard work, a cool down and a meditation. Agustin is able to coach the 15 participants individually at their own level. I always do the simple variation, but still feel that my muscles are too short. I continue until I’m no longer are able to. Quite often I did find the exercise rather comfortable and then Agustin gave me an indication that I tried out “a different variation”. His variation clearly feels tenser. In 7 days I did 14 sessions, each time I did as much as I was able to and what astonished me most is that all the time I felt myself before and after the session very relaxed and physically well. It did not happen that I thought: Wow, you know, I skip this session.
During the week one relaxes and comes into a gentle rhythm, waking up, morning coffee, heavy morning session, late breakfast/lunch, swimming, reading and thinking and socializing in the afternoon. At the end of the day we have a light meal, relax for 3 hours and then the evening session and a sleep. It is amazing that I can manage two yoga session and a night sleep on one vegetarian meal.
Although that yoga is seriously work, I do not experience here that strict, serious environment which one encounters frequently at this type of occasions in the Netherlands.
After a couple of days, at chance, during a conversation the largest pain in my life is touched and comes in full strength to the surface. It is a pain of 30 years ago. It feels though, as if it happened last week and all sorrow was there again. It took a couple of days before I could experience again how glad I am to be here and now in Colombia, on this splendid spot with these nice and gentle people, that I am so fortunate that I can live this life.
The week is over in a wink. In June there is again a retreat and if I am still in Colombia I will participate again. I like Agustin a lot and admire his attitude in life. (www.bereceptive.com , yogatayrona@yahoo.com )
On Boanerges everything proves to be okay, Jaime has taken care well. When I arrive in the dark the dinghy is at the dock with the engine still warm.
Now that I am back I do each morning a yoga sequence for 40 minutes. And I see in my book that Dru yoga does the same (simple) exercises as Agustin taught me. I am doing maintenance again before I leave for the next trip. Painting the deck what I should have done in May 2009 in St.Maarten, but who cares, what is a year on a life time? My KISS wind generator has blocked, because a magnet did break and got between the rotor and stator. The manufacturer is located in Trinidad and does not answer mails, so I have to find my own solutions again. It is not always holyday on Boanerges.


Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Colombia, Cartagena

Zeilend van Amsterdam, Carieb, Panama and???

At the end of this Dutch text one finds a simple translation in English.

De reiziger
Eddy Dunlop, 64 jaar oud, solo, gezond van lijf en leden, niet meer werkzaam en heeft net voldoende geld om een wereldreis te kunnen bekostigen zonder al te veel zorgen.
Als 20 jarige ben ik met een passagier/vrachtschip van de KNSM als dienstplichtige de Atlantische oceaan overgestoken naar Suriname. Al die dolfijnen die op de boeggolf speelden, de zon op en ondergangen, de prachtige wolken met onwaarschijnlijke kleuren, ik dacht “dat wil ik zelf een keer doen”. En nu 40 jaar later kan het, dus doen. Alleen, niet uit overtuiging maar omdat het zo gelopen is.
Email: cat.boanerges@gmail.com

The traveller:
Eddy Dunlop, 64 years old, solo, healthy, no longer working and just sufficient money to be able to travel around the world without too much to care about. At the age of 20 I have crossed the Atlantic ocean with a passenger/cargo liner of the KNSM as a militairy to Surinam. All those dolphins player with the waves in front of the ship, the sunset and the sunrise, the splendid clouds with unreal colours, I thought "that I want do myself once". And 40 years later I can do it, thus. solo, not by conviction but because this way it happens. cat.boanerges@gmail.com

Recente Reisverslagen:

05 Mei 2014

45 Living with Boanerges

05 Mei 2014

44 The life of Boanerges

03 Mei 2014

43b The second part of the photos of nr43a

01 Mei 2014

43a Some of the Windward Islands

01 Mei 2014

42 Diving in the Caribbean (English text)
Eddy

At the end of this Dutch text one finds a simple translation in English. De reiziger Eddy Dunlop, 64 jaar oud, solo, gezond van lijf en leden, niet meer werkzaam en heeft net voldoende geld om een wereldreis te kunnen bekostigen zonder al te veel zorgen. Als 20 jarige ben ik met een passagier/vrachtschip van de KNSM als dienstplichtige de Atlantische oceaan overgestoken naar Suriname. Al die dolfijnen die op de boeggolf speelden, de zon op en ondergangen, de prachtige wolken met onwaarschijnlijke kleuren, ik dacht “dat wil ik zelf een keer doen”. En nu 40 jaar later kan het, dus doen. Alleen, niet uit overtuiging maar omdat het zo gelopen is. Email: cat.boanerges@gmail.com The traveller: Eddy Dunlop, 64 years old, solo, healthy, no longer working and just sufficient money to be able to travel around the world without too much to care about. At the age of 20 I have crossed the Atlantic ocean with a passenger/cargo liner of the KNSM as a militairy to Surinam. All those dolphins player with the waves in front of the ship, the sunset and the sunrise, the splendid clouds with unreal colours, I thought "that I want do myself once". And 40 years later I can do it, thus. solo, not by conviction but because this way it happens. cat.boanerges@gmail.com

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 438
Totaal aantal bezoekers 339864

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Juni 2007 - 30 November -0001

Zeilend van Amsterdam, Carieb, Panama and???

Landen bezocht: